I Need Your Opinion: the lastname and the internet

Posted: January 31, 2010 in life

I’m creating a new website for my photography, and any other “works” I end up creating, but I have a conundrum. I really do not want to use my real last name, for I fear it will become too hard to distinguish my pseudo name/persona from my actual, basically I feel like if it came down to copyright infringement or someone stealing one of my pictures how would I be able to claim that it’s mine? if I wasn’t even using my real name? The reason I don’t want to use my last name is purely for safety and security reasons, yeah I’m sure pretty much anyone can find you, fake name or not, but I don’t want to wave a flag so to speak.

This is why I need your opinion, is it okay to use a fake name for creative projects?
Am I being paranoid and I should just use my real name?

discuss
p.t.

Leave a comment